Preserve Failed Auth History

Sets the Execution Mode for UI logon presentation. The Do Not Preserve History (default) mode enables display of descriptive authentication failure messages to users during logon but does not preserve failed authentication history for display at successful logon, when Windows is configured to show last interactive logon information.

The Preserve History mode returns a generic authentication failure message in response to a failed authentication attempt during logon but correctly shows the number of failed authentication attempts within Windows last interactive logon information.

See: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd446680(v=ws.10).aspx


Supported on: Supported on Windows 7 or later.

Select whether to Preserve Failed Auth History or not to Preserve Failed Auth History.

Preserve Failed Auth History:


  1. Do Not Preserve History
    Registry HiveHKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
    Registry PathSOFTWARE\Policies\RSA\RSA Desktop\Common Settings
    Value NamePreserveFailedAuthHistory
    Value TypeREG_DWORD
    Value0
  2. Preserve History
    Registry HiveHKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
    Registry PathSOFTWARE\Policies\RSA\RSA Desktop\Common Settings
    Value NamePreserveFailedAuthHistory
    Value TypeREG_DWORD
    Value1


rsadesktop_preservefailedauthhistory.admx