Determines whether network files remain available if the computer is suddenly disconnected from the server hosting the files.
This setting also disables the "When a network connection is lost" option on the Offline Files tab. This prevents users from trying to change the option while a setting controls it.
If you enable this setting, you can use the "Action" box to specify how computers in the group respond.
-- "Work offline" indicates that the computer can use local copies of network files while the server is inaccessible.
-- "Never go offline" indicates that network files are not available while the server is inaccessible.
If you disable this setting or select the "Work offline" option, users can work offline if disconnected.
If you do not configure this setting, users can work offline by default, but they can change this option.
This setting appears in the Computer Configuration and User Configuration folders. If both settings are configured, the setting in Computer Configuration takes precedence over the setting in User Configuration.
Tip: To configure this setting without establishing a setting, in Windows Explorer, on the Tools menu, click Folder Options, click the Offline Files tab, click Advanced, and then select an option in the "When a network connection is lost" section.
Also, see the "Non-default server disconnect actions" setting.
Specify how the system is to respond when a network server
Never go offline = Server's files are unavailable to local computer
Work offline = Server's files are available to local computer