Do not move deleted files to the Recycle Bin

When a file or folder is deleted in File Explorer, a copy of the file or folder is placed in the Recycle Bin. Using this setting, you can change this behavior.

If you enable this setting, files and folders that are deleted using File Explorer will not be placed in the Recycle Bin and will therefore be permanently deleted.

If you disable or do not configure this setting, files and folders deleted using File Explorer will be placed in the Recyele Bin.


Supported on: At least Windows Server 2003 operating systems or Windows XP Professional
Registry HiveHKEY_CURRENT_USER
Registry PathSoftware\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer
Value NameNoRecycleFiles
Value TypeREG_DWORD
Enabled Value1
Disabled Value0

windowsexplorer.admx

Administrative Templates (Computers)

Administrative Templates (Users)